Monday, August 30, 2010

ALAO: Jay Ladd Award Nominations

From the ALAO List Serv 8/30/10
Nominations are being accepted for the Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award

The ALAO Awards Committee seeks nominations for the 2010 Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes an individual who (1) has been an ALAO member for at least 5 years, and (2) who has promoted academic libraries and librarianship not only on his or her own campus, but also within the state. The award also recognizes someone who has provided leadership in the promotion of ALAO through service such as committee membership, executive board office, or interest group office. The Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award honors the memory of Jay Ladd, a founding member of ALAO in the early 1970s.

This is a wonderful way to recognize a colleague who has provided leadership in ALAO and in the profession. The recipient of this year's award will receive an honorary 5-year membership in ALAO and will be recognized at the ALAO Annual Conference in Columbus, OH on October 29, 2010.

You may access the nomination form from the ALAO web site at:

Please include the following information:

  • Name of nominee
  • Nominee's position title
  • Nominee's college or university
  • Nominee's ALAO activities
  • Your reasons for nominating this person
  • Your name and contact information, including phone and email

NOTE: You may nominate more than one person. Your reasons for nominating your candidate(s) for the Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award will be especially valuable to the Awards Committee.

Please send your nominations via mail, US Cargo, fax, or as an email attachment by Friday, September 17, 2010 to:

Rob Withers, ALAO Past President
Assistant to the Dean and University Librarian
225 King Library
Miami University
Oxford, OH 45056
Fax: 513-529-3110
Email: rob.withers at

Interested in learning more? Library Cloud contributor, Besty Blankenship, was the 2007 Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award Winner!

No comments: